Boston Race Report 2014

By: Nora Colligan

Screen Shot 2014-04-29 at 11.55.07 AM

The Boston marathon didn’t disappoint this year.  One year after the bombings, with logos such as “Boston Strong” and “We all run as One” printed all over the city, there was much excitement for Monday’s race.  After a motivational speech from Steve Sunday afternoon and a photo shoot for all the Rogues in Boston, we were ready to hit the streets in Hopkington.  My training leading up to the race had been fantastic, and Cap10K as a tune up race indicated that I should see a break through marathon on Monday.   I was ready!

I met my fellow Team Rogue teammates Monday morning for the long bus ride out to Hopkington, followed by an even longer wait.  After much additional (and appreciated) screening we were corralled up and ready to start!  I lined up with some Rogue teammates and we were off.  Bmort entertained us for most of the first 10k, attempting to record the race on his go pro camera (hopefully soon to be published).  After that, I got into my own rhythm almost exactly on planned pace.  

Somewhere around the start of the hills (15ish miles), I could feel my quads start to fatigue a bit, but I didn’t think anything of it.  Chris McClung came back to pull me into the finish, but by the end of the hills my quads were cramping pretty badly.  I struggled up heartbreak hill, hoping that the cramping would feel better on the downhills into Boston…wrong.  Running downhill with cramping quads is definitely more painful that going up!  At this point in the race it became a race of putting one foot in front of the other in an attempt to salvage anything that was left of the race.  

I crawled into town, encouraged by the 1000’s of screaming fans along the course.  The finish is always exciting at Boston, but this year running down Boylston Street meant so much more.  I was still able to manage a sub 3-hour effort in 2:58.06.  Although I didn’t meet my goal time, it was still a fantastic experience and I am proud of just being able to be part of this year’s historic Boston marathon.  

Reflecting on the race, we all run for different reasons.  Whether we run for health, to race the clock, to honor loved ones, or just pure joy, races like this bring everyone together to run as one.  Boston nailed it this year with the logo “Boston runs as one.” No matter what the outcome was, Boston 2014 was a memorable experience and I look forward to training for the next one with Team Rogue! 

Screen Shot 2014-04-30 at 11.49.25 AM.jpg

Apparently we lined up in the right spot to make the news!

Screen Shot 2014-04-29 at 11.58.25 AM

 

Leave a Reply

