21 Days to Establish a Habit

By: Jaime Pina

My name is Jaime Pina and I am new to the Rogue Local Elite team and fairly new to running according to most running standards.  I discovered my love for running a year and half ago with a goal in mind of becoming part of the Rogue Local Elite team.   I have not always been into running and had the mindset that runners were a little fanatical because of their passion and total dedication to getting a run in.

I have always been an athlete and played sports but after graduating from New Mexico State University 9 years ago I found myself going cold turkey when it came to working out.  No gym visits, no short jogs, and walks were even a struggle to get motivated for. With a full time job and a new marriage I thought there was not enough time in the day to be physically active. Bringing two kids into the picture as well did not help with my free time for physical activity. I would come home from work, play with kids, spend time with my wife, and before I knew it the day was gone and I was falling asleep on the couch at 9 pm.

This is me, before running:

Jaime Before

One day I woke up and decided to weigh myself. I looked at the scale that morning and I realized I had gained 40 pounds since graduating from college. Around this same time a friend of mine who is an avid runner would occasionally ask me to train for a 5k with him but I always found an excuse not to do it. Thankfully he persisted and I finally committed and began training. I made the training a priority in life and knew if I could stick to the program for a 4 week period I would make it all the way through the 8 weeks of training. I would run in the early mornings or late evening depending on my schedule.  I had noticed a drastic change in my energy level and the way I felt during the day. Running was not only helping me lose weight but was also improving my professional and personal life. After the 8 week program was over I had hit my goal time and knew that running had become a habit.

Now, a year and a half later, I am back to my high school weight and the healthiest I have ever been. Running changed my life for the better and if my story sounds familiar, pick a race, join a group, and it will become not only a habit but also a new way of life.

This is me, after I started running:

Jaime After

To make sure you make running a habit I would recommend 3 keys. 

1.  Find a race to train for.

2.  Join a group or find an accountability partner.

3.  Make time and leave room for no excuses.

 

Leave a Reply

