Summer Travels: Exploring the world in my New Balance 1400’s

This is my last year as a teacher, at least for the time being. I’ve taken a job as a test writer for ACT testing. Since this is my last summer I’m going to take full advantage of it and I’ll have more to write as each trip comes and goes. Luckily being a runner, travel isn’t just about site seeing, its finding destination races, running through trails, running along beaches, and seeing Paris by foot. There is so much more to see than just the cheap tourist attractions and shopping malls.
June 14th – 17th Duluth, MN for Grandma’s Marathon 4 Days, 4 Women
Mary, Ann, Jen, and Myself decided that this year we wanted to do the marathon. We picked Grandma’s for a fast course and normally pretty good weather. We registered last June and have been training for the marathon since January. I’m having some foot pain only 10 days out, but thanks to lots of pool running, I hope to be in good enough shape to have a fun marathon experience.
July 9th – 19th Michigan for Great Lakes Relay
This relay race is like none other. It runs through the beautiful Michigan trails. The race is 270 miles, starting in Roger city (east coast near Lake Huron) and finishes on the beach in Empire (West coast on Lake Michigan). It’s three days, starting at 6AM and finishing around 5PM each day. I enjoy it much more than other relays where you often end up running at night. A team has 10 people and the race is always competitive, but it’s not always the fastest team that wins. Finishing times are recalculated using the age-grade standards, so a 50 year old female running 8-minute pace will be faster than a 35-yea-old male running 6-minute pace. I’ve run the race 6 times before and it is my absolute favorite and a highlight of my summer. After the race, we’ll do some boating on Torch Lake. (the photo is of me running the river crossing leg)
July 19th – 22nd Grand Cayman Island for a destination wedding
I’m not sure how much running I’ll get done here. Maybe a run on the beach in the morning, or I’ll just take my break after the relay and enjoy a margarita.
July 26th – July 31st Northern Virginia/DC for yet another wedding
It’s July and I’m 28, so all my friends are getting married. I used to live here, so I know all the good running trails. My favorite is the Manassas Battle Field. They have over 14 miles of trails and I can run several miles without seeing anyone.
July 31st – August 6th Paris, France to see my older brother and his family.
My brother married a french woman and they live in Paris with their two young children, Eliott and Lucile. In France, they don’t have day care during August, so I’m using the opportunity to get to know my niece and nephew for the first time. I may have to bring the stroller out when I go running. Its been 4 years, but I still remember the route. My favorite run in Paris just goes along the trail by the Seine river. In one run you can see the Louvre, the Tuileries park, the Champs Elysées, the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower .
Thanks for reading. Look for my next blog entries for more details on running destinations!
Leave a Reply

