Run With Purpose

By: Warren Brown

Well hello again! It’s been about two months since my last blog and quite a bit has transpired since that time. My awesome teammates, Scott MacPherson and Allison Macsas have competed in the Olympic Marathon Trials, my manager at Rogue Running in Cedar Park, Scott Rantall (aka  Aussie Scott) won the 3M Half Marathon here in Austin, Chris Gowell (our beloved 800 meter phenom) has returned from Wales, and lastly I am now running again! That’s right, with the help of Dr. Kurt Edeker, an Airrosti therapist in Cedar Park, I am easing back into running. I’ve logged nearly 70 miles in the past week and am slowly building back to 120 miles hopefully by April. After nearly six months of being unable to train, I am extremely grateful to Dr. Edeker for helping me get back on the road to recovery!

I’ve now been an Austin resident for 7 months now. I am starting to adjust comfortably to living in the city after growing up in Lindale Texas, hometown of Miranda Lambert (too bad I can’t stand contemporary country music).  Beyond the incredible training opportunity that Rogue has provided, I saw this move to Austin as an opportunity to leave all my friends and family, get out of my comfort zone, challenge myself and build my character and faith. It didn’t take long to find a great church at The Austin Stone. The messages given by Matt Carter, have challenged me to be a better person. I am continually hitting my head against the wall, realizing how screwed up some of my choices have been. I’ve been humbled and am relying on God to give me strength to do the right things when it’s so much easier to do what I want, even when it might get ugly. Everything in my life is under His watch. I can’t lose faith that he has a plan for me and I can continually rely on him, even when times are tough.

I’ve recently been inspired by my cousin Chloe who has suspended her education at Texas A&M to surrender two years of her life to serve people in Uganda. Take a look at her blog here: http://belovedadventurer.blogspot.com/. One of the things that I really respect about my church is that they are very focused on serving others, abroad and here in Austin. In America we are surrounded by people suffering, folks who are homeless, families with parents that can’t find full time work. There are so many needs it is overwhelming to think about.

My favorite thing about the professional running scene is that rather than an environment like you see in so many other pro sports, endurance runners have an awesome degree of sportsmanship, an environment where most rivals are also friends.  I mention this because several runners have taken it upon themselves to start charities and run for awesome causes. Ryan and Sara Hall have started Hall’s Steps, helping alleviate world poverty. The Olympic Trials Men’s Marathon Champion Meb Keflezighi founded the MEB Foundation, promoting health education and fitness for youth. Lopez Lomong founded the Lopez Lomong Foundation. He has a great story, check it out by clicking here.

Listening to these and other athletes share how running for these causes has given their training more purpose than ever before has really been profound for me. It has inspired me to look into efforts where I can spend my free time helping with my church’s outreach programs that help those going through tough times in Austin.  While paying back student loans is preventing me from donating as much money as I would like to great causes like I have previously mentioned, I can help with my time and effort. Yeah, it might mean I don’t get to do all the “fun” stuff that I would like, but I think it’s worth it. It will give my life such greater purpose and meaning to know I am spending it helping others. For this reason, it makes me smile thinking about my buildup in training.

If there is anything I have learned, it is that the more positive your outlook is on life, the better you feel. The better you feel, the faster you run.

For those of you wondering when I am racing again, I am planning on racing the Capital 10K this spring and am discussing a fall marathon with Scott MacPherson. We should have one picked out soon!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Run With Purpose”

  1. Tyler Texan says :

    GOOD LUCK!!!!

Leave a Reply

