GOODBYE FOMO

2011 was a great year and ending with a bang this past December at Club Cross Country Nationals in Seattle, WA. I was so excited when I found out Steve and Jeff wanted me to come and be apart of the team for Seattle. Insert happy dance now. The trip was amazing and it was cool to finally get to know the girls of Team Rogue Elite! I haven’t been that nervous for a race in a long time. I remember wanting to vomit on the start line. It was a tough day for me, but the girls did amazing. Let the celebration begin! There is nothing like the feeling of being apart of the number one team. Very well deserved to these dedicated runners.

While in Seattle I learned something about myself. That I am what is known as “FOMO” or  a person with the fear of missing out. I thought that I needed to race as much as possible because, well, I just didn’t want to miss out. Now that I have discovered this FOMO habit, my New Year’s Resolution for 2012 is to not be a FOMO.

Not only did I discover that I was a FOMO in 2011, I also discovered I had an iron deficiency. Since last summer I have been very inconsistent with my training due to illnesses. I would often get colds and infections and sometimes just felt knocked down, dragged out and tired. I went to the doctor in July to get blood work because I was convinced something was wrong. Results from my doctor came back normal. Dang. I wanted an answer! Finally after meeting the wonderful Dr. Noah Moos I had an answer! YES! I have been taking iron for about a month now and, holy moly, what a difference! I am no longer tired and when I run I don’t feel out of gas within the first 10-15 minutes. I feel like I am already getting faster and stronger. Now that that the problem is fixed hopefully I can progress to a faster and stronger runner.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

