The WHY? Of “my” running

By: Carmen Troncoso

I have always thought of running as an art form.

I fell in love with the sport a long time ago. It fits my personality to a “t”…

I’m stubborn and running has taught me to be flexible and accept change. I’m independent and it has taught me to rely on a support group. I’m volatile and it has taught me patience.

I run because it helps me bring closer together the bi-polar aspects of the way I see the world. It helps me see the gray areas in between the black and white.

With age comes wisdom? Maybe, but what motivates me has changed, evolved.  In my 20’s I wanted to run faster, get inspired. In my 30’s I wanted to run even faster, experience life through running, travel, travel, travel. In my 40’s I wanted to inspire, teach, and maybe not get too slow too quickly.

One question I get asked more than anything else is, “did you ever think you were going to be running to race in your 50’s?”, and  my answer is always the same “NO, I have never thought about it either way”.

It has been a continuum, another piece of the puzzle that makes my life more full, and more balanced.  These days, I get a great deal of motivation through the runners that I coach.

I just listened to a Terry Gross (NPR) interview with drummer Paul Motian (at the time 74 yrs. old). She asked him “what are some of the highlights of your career?”, to which he answered, “the fact that I can still do what I love, and I’m still learning new things”…and that is how I feel about my running career, “old body, new experiences”.

But honestly and selfishly a secret reason I still train to compete is to experience the rare feeling of being “one with everything” – that I’m sure each one of you has felt at least once during a race.  Here and Now.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “The WHY? Of “my” running”

  1. Bob D. says :

    I can’t tell if I am 10 years ahead of you or 30 years behind.

    In my 20’s I wanted to retire.
    In my 30’s I wanted to make up for all the time I lost in my 20’s.
    In my 40’s I wanted to pretend I was fit and act like I was 25.
    In my 50’s I admitted I needed to change and started running.
    In my 60’s I love that I can still do what I love (which now includes running) and still do new things. I (still) train to compete in order to keep myself honest and experience the “here and now” the way it really is and to feel like a part of “it”.

  2. Bob D. says :

    P.S. – Thanks Rogue for getting me started!

Leave a Reply

