Hi, My name is Hannah

By: Hannah Steffan

Hey, Hannah Steffan here.

I’ve been training with Team Rogue Elite (TRE) since September 2010 and it has been quite the experience. I moved here, to Austin, after running four years at Dallas Baptist University. I started running my junior year of high school and have always wanted to see how far I could make it in this sport as a professional. I actually heard about TRE through my previous coach, Jacob Phillips, who knows Steve Sisson rather well. I have many goals, but one of my main goals is to eventually be a paid athlete through TRE.  I ran 30-40 miles per week while training in Dallas. Now I am adjusting to the 60-70miles per week we’re putting in here with TRE under Steve Sisson’s training. Needless to say, it has been quite the adventure.

In all my running history, I’ve been one of the top girls, if not the best, on the team. I went to a small 3A high school in East Texas where I was always the top on my team. Then transitioned to DBU (a division II school) where I had an awesome coach and amazing teammates. Despite the typical team drama, I had a great support group and experience at college. I held the majority of the school records for track while competing for DBU. Now, I’m running here in Austin with some very talented crazy fast girls who challenge me more than ever.

Mentally and physically this has been a trying time. I have definitely had my ups and downs here in Austin. However, lately my training has been going very well and I’ve really seen how commitment and hard work can pay off! This past weekend, I was able to race with the TRE girls at the San Antonio Rock and Roll half marathon and we all had very good race days! Dacia finished 4th with a time of 1:17:57, followed by Aly 5th with a time of 1:18:14, followed by Allison 6th with a time of 1:18:16, followed by Kara 7th with a time of 1:18:31, followed by me 8th with a time of 1:19:11, followed by Natalie 9th with a time of 1:21:53, and Sarah finished us off 14th with a time of 1:26:25. It was really awesome to finally have a big race where we all performed well and had fun doing it! Finally feeling like a team with TRE!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Hi, My name is Hannah”

  1. Mark Day. DC CSCS, DACBSP says :

    I enjoyed watching you run the 1500 and steeplechase this past Saturday at Rice. You compete very hard. Wondering if you noticed the swing leg side of your pelvis dropping when you run. It should elevate. You are not getting a good cocontraction in the pelvis to stabilize. I also noticed a small amount of axial rotation. There are ways to improve that if interested. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

